joeyeats

in appreciation of fooding

Canyon Creek Chophouse on Rathburn, Mississauga

This Mother’s day my mom and I decided to go to Canyon Creek Chophouse since she wanted steak. I came here about 7 years ago and I remembered enjoying their steak and especially their honey butter and warm bread. No waiting required, as we got a seat right away.

Free of charge, we were given their bread which appears to be multigrain and their infamous honey butter.

DSC03467

The bread is served warm and the honey butter was whipped so it was easy to spread and melts on contact. It wasn’t as amazing as I remembered, but it was delicious nonetheless.

Appetizer

coconut shrimp
crispy golden coconut breaded tiger shrimp, served with a horseradish Dijon marmalade

DSC03468

The overdone coconut shrimp

We had an issue with their coconut shrimp because my mother felt it was too overcooked. We consulted our waitress K. but she said that it is right and insisted that it was ‘golden brown‘. I’m not sure about you, but I don’t think this is considered golden brown. If you look at the picture on the right from their official website, that looks more golden brown to me. K also told my mom to taste it first. She seemed reluctant to take it back. My mom did not want to taste it, so she finally took it back and said said she will ask the chefs to cook it less.

A little while after, the manager M came to our table first said he can give us more bread and butter because he noticed we ate it all (that’s how good it is). He then apologized that the shrimp was not cooked the way we preferred it. He explained that the internal temperature of the shrimp need to be heated up so it is cooked thoroughly. He suggested that if we waited a little longer than can finish the shrimp on the oven, and we agreed. This matter was handled very courteously and professionally. I truly commend him for that because not often do people provide this kind of service anymore. Good work M.

DSC03471

The better done shrimp.

The coconut shrimp was a bit oily. I think it would have been better if they could soak up the oil a bit at least, but I can understand that they want to get the food out fast. I wasn’t a fan of the horseradish mustard marmalade. I didn’t feel like it went well with the coconut shrimp. Maybe a pinapple-based marmalade would have fared better. But I have to admit I am biased as I do not like horseradish.

Main Course

smoky bacon & cheddar burger w/ side caesar
hand-packed ground beef, Applewood-smoked bacon, cheddar cheese, bbq sauce, Canyon aïoli, crisp leaf lettuce, vine ripened tomato, dill pickle, red onion

DSC03473 DSC03472

I apologized the the bad photo of the burger. Starting with the caesar salad,  it tasted like what it was suppose to taste like so nothing special there. But I appreciated the shaved parmesan cheese. I like my salads with more acidity, so I needed a wedge of lemon to brighten it up.

I haven’t had a beef patty burger in a long while, so I looked forward to eating it. I think it lacked flavour in my opinion. I didn’t taste the canyon aioli much so I cannot comment on it. The burger wasn’t anything special either. Pretty bland in general. I’m not a fan of bacon by itself, but I could taste that this bacon was different since it was applewood smoked. However the patty and bread is housemade and the cheddar is real cheddar so I appreciate that.

10oz steak (sirloin?) medium rare w/ loaded baked potato
seasoned with a special blend, developed to enhance the natural flavour of the meat.

DSC03474

Standard loaded baked potato. Again, it is what it is. Steak is another thing that I haven’t had in a long time. When I had a small piece, I just chewed and chewed. It tasted like unseasoned meat after 3 seconds of chewing it. In all honestly I do not see what’s the hype with steak. Perhaps I truly had good steak (whatever that may be), but I don’t think it’s worth the money or the cow’s life. I guess I was never a fan of steak.DSC03475

Overall:

Taste – 5.5/10
Their saving grace was their honey butter and warm bread. When something free of charge is better than everything else, you know something’s not right.
Presentation – 5/10
They didn’t make it look fancy, its just get it on the plate, make it neat and go. But the food itself looked appetizing, which is fine.
Service – 3/10 for K, 10/10 for M
I felt like K wasn’t as attentive to us after the little dispute about the coconut shrimp, but Manager M was excellent.

Additional Notes:
Food comes out quickly. Though I do consider Canyon Creek more fine-dining, I also think this place is very family friendly.

Would I come again?
Slim, but I could since it’s quite nearby. Though I don’t think I’d suggest it. If I were with friends and they wanted to go, I wouldn’t protest. Maybe I’ll come again in another 7 years.

Canyon Creek Chophouse on Urbanspoon

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 846 other followers

